Around the Town

Jewish Federation holds annual meeting

Marilyn Englander was elected new president of the Jewish Federation of Fort Worth and Tarrant County for 2011-2012

On June 2 at Congregation Ahavath Sholom, an enthusiastic gathering of members celebrated the Federation’s 75th annual meeting. In the absence of outgoing president Dr. Barry Schneider, past president Eddie Feld chaired the meeting. Eddie began by recognizing his nominating committee of Karen Anisman, Red Goldstein, Alyson Halpern and Dolores Schneider.
Marilyn Englander was unanimously elected president for the 2011-2012 year. In her acceptance speech, Englander especially emphasized the need to reach out to younger constituents in the community as well as the growing Jewish community in Northeast Tarrant County. Marilyn’s focus will be on positive change, which builds on the fine efforts of her predecessors. In addition to Marilyn, Jeff Hochster was elected vice president of campaign and allocations; Karen Kaplan, vice president of administration; Len Schweitzer, vice president of community relations; David Nudleman, treasurer; and Linda Hoffman, secretary.  Kenneth Baum, chair of the Endowment Committee and Susan Luskey, chair of Jewish Family Services, make up the remainder of the executive committee.
Retiring Board Members Karen Anisman, Patty Garsek, Rick Klotz and Roz Micklin were honored for their years of loyal service to the Federation. In addition to Englander, members elected for a second term or newly elected include: Arnie Barkman, Shayne Moses, Barry Schneider, Jennifer Siegel, Lisa Wax and Ben Weiger.
This year’s recipient of the Barnett/Brachman Young Leadership Award was Julie Marks of Congregation Beth Israel. Julie is the new president of CBI. Along with Julie, Dr. Sam Kleinman of Beth-El Congregation was awarded the Sylvia and Jerry Wolens Award. Sam has been a member of the Federation Board and and on the Allocations Committee for the past two years. Both recipients will receive a stipend to attend the Jewish Federations of North America General Assembly in November.
Other people were recognized for their valiant volunteer efforts in programs and/or committees. They were Karen Anisman, Jill Imber, Renee Pinto, Len Schweitzer, Karen Kaplan, Roger Simon, Barbara Rubin, Alyson and Blake Halpern, Lauren and Aaron Moses, Mikhail Kisin, Marianna Kisin, Amy Hamilton, Jennifer Siegel, Suzie Kuptsin, Melissa Morgan, Shayne Moses, Julie Berman, Elizabeth Cooper, Cora Latta, Posy McMillen, Linda Negron, Shoshana Howard, Rivka Marco, Naomi Brand, Shoshana Isgur, Susan Luskey, Marilyn Englander, Eddie Feld, Kenneth Baum, Hollace Weiner, Rosalyn Rosenthal, Jeff Hochster, Lisa Wax, Ben Weiger, David Nudleman and the Shir Hallelujah Choir.
The featured speaker of the evening was Gil Elan, executive director of the Southwest Jewish Congress, (a recipient agency of a Federation Campaign allocation). Gil provided an update on recent events in the Middle East and the potential impact on Israel.
The meeting concluded with refreshments and a lot of camaraderie to celebrate another successful year for the Federation.

Mark Kreditor returns to ‘Daytimers’

Mark Kreditor and fans John Giordano and Jack Gerrick at a previous Daytimers event.

“Daytimers” are eagerly awaiting the return appearance of Mark Kreditor with his program, “Jews of the American Songbook.” The show, at Beth-El, Wednesday, June 15, at noon, will include songs from “Cabaret” to “Bye-Bye Birdie,” all written by Jewish composers.
A large crowd is expected for his fifth appearance at “Daytimers.” Holding early reservations so far are Bettye Baccus, Mike Blanc, Fannie Brooks, Bootsie and Joe Coggan, Edythe Cohen, Roberta Corder, Hortense Deifik, Yale and Shayna Gancherov, Mimi Klotz and her son Steve Klotz, Henrietta Krumholz, Phil Landsberg, Mike Maltzman, Evelyne Neimand, Irv and Rhona Raffel, Sandy Richard, Roz Rosenthal, Barbara Rubin, Sherwin Rubin, Rosalie Schwartz, Len and Rosemarie Schweitzer, Hy Siegel, Audrey Sloter, Fanette Sonkin, Avette Stenzler and Al Wexler.
Kreditor served as the annual campaign chair for The Ann and Nate Levine Academy for over 10 years, and has written original music for the school. He donates all the proceeds from his programs to Levine Academy. Guests are asked to be generous, and bring their cash and checks made out to Levine Academy. Last time Kreditor was in Fort Worth, the “Daytimers” raised well over $400 for the school.
Lunch will be catered by Jimmy John’s Sandwich Shop, and guests will have a choice of a turkey, tuna or vegetarian sandwich. Cost is $9 for the lunch and program, or guests may attend for the program only for $4. For reservations, call Barbara Rubin at 817 927-2736. Checks can be mailed to Daytimers, Beth-El Congregation, 4900 Briarhaven Rd., Fort Worth, TX 76109.
The Sylvia Wolens “Daytimers” is a program of Beth-El Congregation with financial support from the Jewish Federation.

Leave a Reply