Around the Town with Rene

Cong. Ahavath Sholom elects new officers and board
Last Sunday, Congregation Ahavath Sholom convened its annual meeting in the Zale Auditorium of the synagogue. The first part of the meeting was chaired by Parliamentarian Al Faigin, D.O., in the absence of President Harry S. Kahn. Following the recognition of past presidents by Dr. Faigin, himself a past president, and recognition of the shul’s outstanding staff by Executive Director Garry Kahalnik, Rabbi Alberto “Baruch” Zeilicovich presented a d’var Torah and his report to the congregation. Treasurer Ebby Lavi gave a financial summary for the first six months of the fiscal year. Carol-Ann Schwartz presented the report of this years nominating committee. The slate was nominated and elected by acclamation. New officers of congregation Ahavath Sholom, elected for a one year term are: President, Stuart Isgur; 1st Vice-President, Marvin Beleck; 2nd Vice President, Dr. Murray Cohen; 3rd Vice-President, Rich Hollander; Treasurer, Ebby Lavi; Secretary, Dr. Nancy Faigin and Parliamentarian, Harry S. Kahn.
Directors elected to a three year term include: Andres Zapata, Jodi Berger, Elsie Blum, and Harry Labovitz
Nominations were taken from the floor to fill director’s vacancies created by the elections of Drs. Faigin and Cohen. Elected to complete Dr. Faigin’s last year is Nancy Sheinberg. Mrs. Sheinberg joins Steve Herman, Alex Nason and Yoseph Yaacobi who also have one more year as directors. Elected to complete Dr. Cohen’s last two years is Robert Dubinsky. He joins Walter Listig, Debby Rice, and Carol-Ann Schwartz who will also complete their last two terms as directors.
Rabbi Zeilicovich returned to install the new board. Newly elected president, Stuart Isgur recognized retiring board members, the work of several committee chairs and made brief closing remarks highlighting his hopes for a bright future for the congregation. Following adjournment, many of the attendees met at a local restaurant for dinner and conversation.
Mazal Tov to all of the newly elected officers and board members. May they go from strength to strength!
Beth El to welcome Thompson and Feghali
For a second year, beautiful music will be made at Temple Beth-El Congregation during Friday night services on June 26, when violinist Curt Thompson and Cliburn gold medalist Jose Feghali give us a sneak preview of this year’s Mimir Chamber Music Festival.
Now in its 12th year, the festival is held at TCU’s Pepsico Music Hall, July 9-17. Thompson is founder and executive director of the Mimir Chamber Music Festival, and serves as associate professor of Violin and director of Chamber Music studies at TCU. Feghali is Artist-in Residence at TCU and also serves as vice president and executive producer for the Anacapa Music Label.
‘Kids Who Care’ brings show to Daytimers
It was a packed house at Beth-El for “Daytimers” when founding Director Deborah Jung brought 50 members of the current “Kids Who Care” Resident Company who presented selections from their original musicals “Deep in the Heart” and “Let my Heart Sing.” Kids from across the Metroplex, ages 6-18, are part of this audition musical theatre company and perform 30 to 40 times each year across the Metroplex and across the country. The program was introduced by Sylvia Wexler, whose granddaughter Kim Garoon was a star of the company for several years.
Several members of the group brought their children and grandchildren for this exciting presentation.
Rosalie and Carl Cagan brought their daughter Shelly and their granddaughters, Laura Kai and Arianna. Frances Marks brought her grandson Jamon. Adelene Myers came with her daughter Jan Lambert, and great-granddaughter Raegan Huffman, and Shelly and Steven Sternblitz brought their twin granddaughters Hannah and Jessy.
Mona Kartan’s father, Barry Green, who has just moved to Franklin Park, arrived with several others including Milton Mintz’ guests, Barbara Dowdy, Pat Lacey, and Harold Rogers.
Kathryn Albright, General Manager of “Kids Who Care” talked about the nine Israeli teens who will be with the company this summer. She asked about home-housing for the leader of the group and for some of the teens.
Next event for the “Daytimers” will be annual movie party and ice cream social, featuring the Mel Brooks original “The Producers” starring Zero Motel and Gene Wilder. Cost is only $5 for the film, free popcorn and ice cream. For reservations, call Barbara Rubin, 817-927-2736, or Sylvia Wexler, 817-294-1129, or checks can be mailed to Daytimers, Beth-El Congregation, 4900 Briarhaven Rd., Fort Worth, TX 76109.
The Sylvia Wolens “Daytimers” is a program of Congregation Beth-El with financial support from the Jewish Federation.

Leave a Reply