DJHS to honor 6 women

Contributed report

Dallas, TX – March 30, 2015 – The Dallas Jewish Historical Society’s Ann Loeb Sikora humanitarian award luncheon  April 16 will honor six women who have been influential in shaping Dallas and Texas history and public policies: Lois Finkelman, Adlene Harrison, Ann Margolin, Laura Miller, Florence Shapiro and Annette Strauss (posthumously). The event will be from 11:30 am-1:30 pm at the Westin Galleria Hotel. The Master of Ceremonies is Brad Sham.
The Sikora Award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding commitment to public service and who stand as role models for future generations. Each of the six honorees represents Ann Loeb Sikora’s legacy of leadership and devotion to social justice and humanitarian causes in the Jewish and general community.
“Our honorees are women who have made history through their passion for public service and for the welfare of all citizens in Dallas, Plano and the state of Texas,” said Jim Schwartz, DJHS president. “This is a unique event for everyone in North Texas because we are honoring three former mayors of Dallas, two former Dallas City councilwomen, a former Plano mayor and a former Texas state senator.”
The presenting sponsor is Sparkman-Hillcrest. For more information on sponsorships and for luncheon tickets, visit or call 214-239-7120.
The mission of the Dallas Jewish Historical Society is to preserve and protect collections of written, visual and audible materials that document the history of the Dallas Jewish community; to make these materials available to the public and researchers; and to keep the past as a living legacy for the community.

  • Post category:News
  • Post comments:0 Comments

Leave a Reply