Hats off to the class of 2008!

Three day schools and three Jewish high schools held their graduations recently in Dallas.

Akiba Academy

On June 1, Akiba Academy graduated its largest class ever, 25 students. Making up the graduating class were: Dalit Agronin, Justine Adrienne Berman, Bryan Benaim, Evelyn Joy Denemark, Chaya Mushka Dubrawsky, Jori Brianna Epstein, Jacob Meir Greif, Josh Hoppenstein, Alex G. Kaufman, Sheera Eliza Krengel, Benjamin Liener, Adina Devora Mandelcorn, Joshua Daniel Mirsky, Moselle Dominique Paz, Jordan Benjamin Prescott, Mina Rachel Pulitzer, Emily Rohan, Ben Romaner, Naomi Elise Rosenberg, Hannah Schepps, Gabby Steinbrecher, Yaakov Simha Tzuriel Meir Stolovitsky, Kevin Anthony Sulski, Cara Meira Tolmas and Ilana Emily Wernick.

Levine Academy

Just days after returning from their long-awaited eighth-grade trip to Israel, Levine held its commencement ceremony on June 5. Congratulations to the students in the Levine Academy class of 2008 who will now continue their education at the following schools: Connor Adell: Episcopal School of Dallas. Reagan Alhadef: Greenhill School. Elijah Benzvi: Frisco Centennial High School. Carly Bierman: Yavneh Academy of Dallas. Teal Cooper: Parish Episcopal School of Dallas. Samantha Danilewitz: Yavneh Academy of Dallas. David Dunsky: Yavneh Academy of Dallas. Ali Feinstein: Yavneh Academy of Dallas. Coreen Golan: J.J. Pearce High School. Melanie Goodman. Shepton High School, Elianah Gorin: Parish Episcopal School of Dallas. Riley Harmon: Shepton High School. Jillian Herstein: Yavneh Academy of Dallas. Tova Kline: Richardson High School. Andrew Leffler: Episcopal School of Dallas. Zach Prengler: Yavneh Academy of Dallas. Harris Rabinowitz: Shepton High School. Emily Rosenfeld: Yavneh Academy of Dallas. Matthew Rosenstein: Richardson High School Arts, Science, and Law Magnet. Jordan Rudner: Greenhill School. Jasmine Sidisin: Yavneh Academy of Dallas. Jessica Solls: Greenhill School. Nina Stern: Episcopal School of Dallas. Alex Weinstein: Episcopal School of Dallas. Tori Weinstein: Shepton High School.

Mesorah High School

Mesorah graduation ’08 saw three capable young ladies — Johanna Corcos, Yael Glazer and Hila Hoffman — reach this important milestone. All three graduates will attend seminaries in Israel next year to solidify the foundations laid at Mesorah. They will participate in intensive Judaic studies, after which they each plan to return to pursue college educations.

Texas Torah Institute

Sunday, June 1 marked the third commencement ceremonies for Texas Torah Institute (TTI). The class of 2008 consisted of three seniors: Elozar Liff from Brooklyn, N.Y., and Nechemia Kushner and Elimelech Sterns, both from Cleveland, Ohio. For the coming school year, two of the graduates will be coming back to TTI to study full-time in the yeshiva’s post-high-school rabbinical training program. The other one will be attending a yeshiva in Israel.

Torah Day School of Dallas

Torah Day School recently held its fifth graduation ceremony for the school, which has grown from 165 students in 2003 to almost 300 today. Graduates were: (boys’ division) Binyamin Epstein, Alex Goldschmiedt, Ari Margolies, Aaron Oppenheim, Eden Rubinstein, Jacob Winston; (girls’ division) Sarah Abrams, Mimi Edery, Chaya Leah Kosowsky, Liat Rafaelov, Sivan Naor, Chava Miriam Rich, Devorah Rosenberg, Tamar Rosenberg, Laetitia Sebbag, Ela Wilson.

Valedictorian of the boys’ class was Jacob Winston; co-valedictorians of the girls’ class were Sarah Abrams and Chava Miriam Rich.

Yavneh Academy

Yavneh Academy of Dallas celebrated its 13th annual commencement on May 25. The graduates included: Emily Ackerman, Bradley Alhadef, Samuel Ames, Emily Brill, Daniel Bonner, Sarah Epstein, David Fine, Alexander Hirschberg, Louis Huberman, Allie Kessler, Erez Krengel, Sara Levi, Gabriella Lewin, Aviva Linksman, Melissa Michelson, Zachary Moskowitz, David Naxon, Nava Newman, Robert Radoff, Grace Rosenthal, Michael San Soucie, Natalie Schachar, Hannah Schachter, Yardana Schick, Baruch Shawel, Ari Steinbaum, Tova Stolovitsky, Arye Zucker and Rachel Zbolon. Yavneh’s class of 2008 was accepted to 57 universities, colleges, and seminaries in the United States, Canada and Israel; they received over $931,000 in scholarship money and served over 11,000 hours of community service.

Leave a Reply